what i know for sure … but keep learning

March 19, 2010

i am called to love, respect, support, encourage my husband – not convict, reprimand, instruct, condemn.

in the moment … when i know that i am “right” =) and want to be heard, validated, and acknowledged (as right, of course!) it can be so hard to let go. to see the bigger picture: i serve Christ by loving my husband.

and the God who is big enough to guide, love, instruct and counsel me … also does this for my husband.

so i have a choice: in the moment, i can go to great lengths to prove my point and work it out with strong rhetoric and cutting words. or, i can let go. of proving, justifying, convincing, correcting.

and i can serve. and love.  and trust that in serving and submitting, God will move on the heart of my man.

He has and He does.

“When he had finished washing their feet, he put on his clothes and returned to his place. ‘Do you  understand what I have done for you?’ he asked them … You should also wash one another’s feet. I have set you an example that you should do as I have done for you … Now that you know these things, you will be blessed if you do them.” John 13:12-17

2 Responses to “what i know for sure … but keep learning”

  1. Stacy Says:

    Ugh. I’ve certainly been there…

    Why is it that it seems SO important in the moment to be RIGHT at all costs?! 😦

    Emily, I just wanted to say thank you (a belated one, but nonetheless…) for your sweet comment on my blog at the beginning of the month! 🙂

    Blessings to you and yours…
    ~Stacy

  2. Meredith Says:

    Once again Em, I am so encouraged by your wisdom in this area….OF COURSE it isn’t up to me to change my husband’s heart…it’s up to God. But I don’t think I’ve heard it said in so many words before, and it never occurred to me like that before. It was a total “DUH” moment for me. Thank you friend!


Leave a Reply

