pantry must-have: coconut oil

April 8, 2010

Nutiva Certified Organic Extra Virgin Coconut Oil::

i am so grateful to have discovered coconut oil! it has become an absolute staple in our home; we use it daily. there are innumerable benefits – a simple google search will get you started if you want to learn more.

in our home, here are some of the ways we enjoy it:

:: it is an excellent skin moisturizer! it is great all over the body … healing and moisturizing for ezcema, but also for me (i use it on my face and body when i run out of my regular products)

:: it is great eye makeup remover!

:: i use it as my fat/oil in all my baking (replacing butter as my daughter is allergic to dairy) and it tastes wonderful!

:: i use it to saute anything at higher temps (olive oil is not ideal when raised to a high temp in cooking) … sauteing veggies for soups; frying fish in a pan; popping popcorn, and the list could go on.

:: it makes great chocolate!

:: we just discovered that it is a great hair product for my daughter! after combing out her curls, we run a little melted coconut oil through the ends and the curls holds beautifully without becoming frizzy!

i keep it in my cupboard; it does melt at higher temps but solidifies again once cool. easy, tasty and healing!

3 Responses to “pantry must-have: coconut oil”

  1. Meredith Says:

    Does it have an actual coconut taste to it? I always assumed that it did, which is why I’ve never purchased it–I really don’t like coconut!

    I thought of you the other day though…we picked up Agave Nectar at Food 4 Less…I want to start using that more than sugar.

  2. home2learn Says:

    hi mere!
    i think it does taste like coconut, but not overwhelmingly … i would love if you want to stop by some day and try a bit, or take a scootch home to sample. =)


  3. […] wrote about coconut oil here almost 2 years ago. we continue to use it and love it; it really is an essential in our […]


Leave a Reply

