what a generous gift!

November 12, 2010

i am smiling tonight as i think about the generosity shown to my daughter (and to me!) today. one of my dearest friends, jessica, *loves* crafting. she and maddie are kindred spirits in this regard. =) jessica has come over here on a number of occasions, bringing her “supplies”, sharing and teaching and creating alongside madison.

recently, she offered to have madison come to her home, on a weekly basis, and craft. the added gift? a few hours of “alone” time for me! wow. what amazing thoughtfulness. after all, this is a busy, homeschooling mama … who is carving out a few hours of a precious day to share with maddie? double wow.

today was day 1 … i dropped my girl off to jessica’s cozy home, where candles were lit, and crafting supplies were set up and ready. maddie was excited, albeit perhaps a little hesitant for mama to be leaving (although she’d been really looking forward to it). i was able to meet a girlfriend for a spontaneous coffee date – bonus!

after i picked maddie up and we were driving away, she was literally gushing with details of their incredible time together! she is such a gifted artist, and just loves and appreciates the details of different projects and designs, so she was delighted to learn amazing tricks and ideas from jessica. she cannot wait til next week!

i am so blessed and reminded by jessica’s example of the many “outside the box” ways that hospitality and love and kindness can be shown. thank you, sweet friend.

2 Responses to “what a generous gift!”

  1. Jessica Krohn Says:

    Oh my goodness, what a sweet post! Isn’t that just the way that God works….I thought that I would be doing something to bless you and I am the one being abundantly blessed!

    I so love Maddie and she IS so very talented and I love to watch her imagination at work as she decides what to do. 🙂

    We’ve already agreed on next weeks project! I can’t wait to have her again!

    Thanks for sharing your blessed little bundle!

    See you tomorrow!

    XOXOXOXOXOXO

  2. jani Says:

    I love it!! 🙂


Leave a Reply

