a SON …

November 28, 2010

 

“i prayed for this child, and the LORD has granted me what i asked of Him.  so now i give him to the LORD. for his whole life he will be given over to the LORD.”  (1 samuel 1:27)

the gift is almost more than i can wrap my mind around – a son! we would have been thrilled with a boy or a girl, *of course*, but i have had this longing, this cherished hope, for a son.  i am so thankful.

we had our big ultrasound on wednesday – 3 days ago. time was passing sooo slowly that morning!! maddie was beside herself with excitement and shared with me that she was hoping they would say it was a boy. 😉

the ultrasound was wonderful … thorough … amazing to see this precious boy, wiggling and moving around. mike and maddie were there, and the gracious tech explained everything she was seeing (look, 2 perfect kidneys! … and there are the heart valves, functioning exactly as they should be, etc etc). such reassurance, to see this little baby forming and developing just as i have hoped and prayed.

finally, she says … oh yes, it’s a boy! i ask, are you sure?? and she laughs, assuring me that there is *no doubt* and pointing out the image on the screen to verify. 😉 oh yes, it’s a boy!

i laughed and cried, and then apologized as i realized my laughter was causing my belly to move and shake! maddie was just grinning and kept mouthing, “it’s a BOY!” when our eyes met.

hubby has been so happy and continues to make comments to maddie about when “your little brother … ” (fill in the blanks!). we’ve talked and dreamed about this son, cuddling in bed, imagining the future.

thank you, LORD.

5 Responses to “a SON …”

  1. Jessica Krohn Says:

    I LOVE THESE PHOTOS! I just want to see them up close and in person. *wink*

    I am SOOOOOO excited that you are having a boy, and like I mentioned to you the other day, boys have such a precious and wonderful relationship with their Momma’s AND what a wonderful blessing to now be the mother of both a daughter and a son!

    I continue to rejoice with you my sister in Christ and I will never forget the miracle and the answered prayers that have come about in this child of yours. To me he will ALWAYS be an example of God’s amazing love and supernatural ability to bless His beloved ones!

    I love you!!!!!!!!!!

    XOXOXOXOXO

  2. jaw123456 Says:

    Emily!
    A long awaited hope, dream, blessing from God. I am so happy for you my friend…and I cannot wait until the your family of four (or more 😉 can come to stay with the Wertz Ohana!

    And yes, there is a special bond, a different relationship with a boy and his mama. It is just as special as our bond with our girls…and yet different. I look forward to sharing with each other in years to come.

    Love, Jessica

  3. liz Says:

    Beyond thrilled for you — we love boys, of course! A thankful Thanksgiving indeed. Love you.

  4. Life Says:

    Crying happy tears w/you 🙂

  5. Meredith Says:

    I am so excited for you all. A boy is going to bring such a new and wonderful dynamic to the family!


Leave a Reply

