say what!?

March 13, 2011

i am finding pregnancy to be the most interesting “invitation” for the most bizarre comments!!

just this week, from clerks at various retail stores, i’ve heard:

:: you ’bout to have the baby?! you must be due any day now. are you just having one?!

:: sorry, i can’t help staring at your belly.

:: there is no way you are going to make it 4 more weeks.

and, while in line at starbucks w/a girlfriend today, sharing these very anecdotes, the starbucks clerk commented that i look like i am due and this boy is ready to come out! lol.

i get to smile and share how excited we are and what a blessing this boy is, whenever he arrives.

(( as a side note, i am officially feeling “big” and uncomfortable. have i said that yet?! i feel like i rounded that bend of pregnancy “ease” and am feeling the crunch of a large, growing baby kicking and pushing and pressing … and denying his mama some good sleep.  lol.  i am feeling ready, and feeling like 3 1/2 weeks sounds like a lot longer to carry him within. ))

2 Responses to “say what!?”

  1. liz Says:

    Oh, this is the fun part, isn’t it? At the end of my last pregnancy, it occurred to me what a physical sacrifice a pregnancy is, and it made me wonder about what God was trying to teach me. He doesn’t just present us with a baby, does He? It’s a spiritual experience, and I’m sure you’re feeling that, along with the aches and the sleepiness. Love you.

  2. Meredith Says:

    This was the weirdest part of pregnancy for me! People started telling me that I looked like I was ready to pop around 30 weeks!

    For me, the uninvited comments didn’t stop there either–people always commented about how small Lizzy was and wanted to suggest ways to “fatten her up”.

    Even today at church, someone told me that I should take Lizzy to the doctor ASAP because sometimes when she walks (usually when she’s trying to walk faster than her little legs can carry her), she drags one toe and/or walks slightly pigeon toed (according to this person).

    It is SO WEIRD, and I’m sorry you’re experiencing it right now!


Leave a Reply

