a precious question

May 4, 2011

“mama, do you like homeschooling me?”

maddie’s sweet question came out of the blue as we ate breakfast this morning.

i told her that yes, i love homeschooling her! it is a blessing to teach her, to learn alongside her, and to spend my days with one of my favorite people in the world.

she told me that her neighborhood friend had told her mom that she wanted to be homeschooled and the mom had responded that no way would she want to homeschool her daughter. that response must have made an impression on maddie.

indeed, as we ate a late breakfast, looking out over a field covered in sunshine, thinking ahead to what we’d be learning and doing that day … i know that i am blessed to be right here, right now, living the fulfillment of a prayer i’ve had for many years. (let me remember that in times of frustration and discouragement!)

2 Responses to “a precious question”

  1. jaw123456 Says:

    Well said, Friend…I wholeheartedly agree!


  2. Isn’t it interesting how out children can bring up questions in such curious and innocent ways.

    I’m so thankful to have have a child which I do love to spend time with. I definitely prayed, just as you did, for the day to come when I could be a homeschooling Mom. We are living the fulfillment of that prayer. And although there are hard days, I feel 100% confident that this is what God has called me to do.

    I see how when I worked traditional jobs, God was teaching me skills that would come in handy as a teacher of my child.

    It makes me sad to think of a child going to their Mother, asking for that one person who knows them and should love them more than anyone on earth…in a vulnerable state…asking “Mommy would you homeschool me?”
    And for whatever reason, feeling the rejection of the answer that says “I would never homeschool you.” I know this sounds judgmental on my part, and I don’t mean it to, because I too struggled with the idea of homeschooling for several years before I actually made the plunge and did it myself. So many things to consider.

    Any yet, I see the blessing that has come upon my son. I have seen the blessing that has come over me for my obedience.

    Thank you Emily for being a faithful friend that I can walk this on this journey!

    I believe there will be a day that God tells us that He is well pleased. And when our kids are older and we look back, I believe we’ll see the fruit of our labor!

    Love you!


Leave a Reply

