blessed birthday

June 13, 2011

i enjoyed a really sweet 36th birthday yesterday with my family.  it started with this, which my daughter had stayed up *super* late to create in her room the night before. she is so thoughtful and loving to her mama!!

she painted this! and filled it with treasures. 🙂

raw and uncut - opening her gifts!

(( my heart is so moved by her desire to bless me! she was determined to know what i wanted for my bday and took special efforts to shop and then create a beautiful gift))

my dear mama hosted a family lunch for me … 2 years in a row she’s done this, and it’s been so great. the weather was sunny, the food was perfect (she knows me so well and always makes my favorite: macaroni salad!), and the sweet ladies in my family so generously give me goodies that are so fun!

somebody was the center of attention 🙂

cool glasses from grandma!

uncle ron holding our little man

can i eat him up!?

eating lunch out on mama's patio

grandma brought the most decadent ice cream cake from DQ

love my aunt nancy

after the party fun ended, my hubby and i got a little date!!! mom offered to watch maddie and josiah … i had a bottle pumped and ready … and my man took me on a (much-needed!) shopping “spree”.  it was so great being together, feeling spoiled by the love of this generous man, talking about our children’s future, our marriage, and life.  kisses, laughter, holding hands … with my favorite guy. the *best*.

when we got back to mom’s, this is what we found,

LOVE LOVE LOVE

2 Responses to “blessed birthday”


  1. Em, your baby is beautiful!So glad I can see pics of Maddie and Josiah now all the time!
    Love,
    Margie

  2. Stacy Says:

    Emily~
    Congratulations! Your baby boy is SO.ADORABLE! 🙂 Seriously– very, *very* cute little guy!

    Thank you for your comment on my recent post. I just want you to know that we take LOTS of time off when a new baby arrives, too– homeschooling goes out the window for maybe, um… *months*! 😉 And when we do get back on track it’s very light. I figure that’s one of the many blessings of homeschooling… we get to stretch out the celebration longer and really revel in the gift God has given and the transitions and delight a new baby brings. 🙂 So relax and enjoy him and you can hit the books (and planning) another day. 🙂

    Love to you and your sweet family,
    (ps- I love the gift your sweet girl made for you… so creative and thoughtful.)
    ~Stacy


Leave a Reply

