having a “job”

October 2, 2011

maddie commented last week something to the effect of: i stopped working at a job outside of the home because i didn’t like my job and being home is much easier than working.

{allow me to pause for my jaw dropping, dumbfounded, speechless response. !!! }

i gently explained to her that i didn’t want to go to work because i wanted to be home.each day that she saw me dreading going to work was a day i wished i could be home with her, instead.

GOD has given me a passion and desire to be HOME … nurturing and caring for my family, loving and serving my man, schooling my girl, creating an environment of comfort and routine that comes from being focused and intentional.

i lived with this dissonance; spending my days and my energy pouring in to something that was robbing me from being where i felt called to be: home.

{truth be told, absent the dissonance, i really liked my job. i was able to use my years of experience and education in a way that just flowed … the work was easy, i was definitely in my element, doing what i loved and knew how to do. and, bonus: i got to work with a bunch of fabulous women – that became friends! great friends.}

let’s not lie – there are definitely times where there is appeal in being a professional in the workforce again.  getting dressed up each day (no more gauchos and sweats!);  being able to use my brain in a different way, toward a specific objective, and seeing concrete results; receiving reinforcement and kudos for work well done; lunch and coffee out many days, often with friends and/or coworkers; space free of the needs of babies and kiddos …  ah, space!

but despite the romanticizing of this picture, the reality is that i am RIGHT where i want to be. i am SO THANKFUL to be home … to see GOD’s provision for our family each month that continues to allow me to be here … to get to pour my energy and passion in to my children and husband and home.

thank GOD.

3 Responses to “having a “job””

  1. krystlebowen Says:

    Amen to all of that!
    What is awesome, is your daughter is going to see this amazing example you are setting…your good days and bad. She is going to learn from you and want to do EXACTLY what you are doing!!!

  2. Leaves Heal Says:

    Awesome gift, Mama– I don’t miss the career… different experience there. So glad to be home 🙂 …once in a while, though, I do LOVE a minute out & about– helps me appreciate home again LOL!


  3. It’s a good reminder to treat every day at home as a BLESSING.

    I think that in a lot of ways, being home is harder…a lot more WORK than being at work. On the other hand, I feel a lot less overall stress/drama being at home compared to work, so that’s a plus!


Leave a Reply

