exceedingly abundant

June 16, 2013

i am writing this from a hotel room …

what an adventure, what a wild ride this past couple months have been.

insane pressure to find a home – someplace to live – before we had to move.

praying, trusting, trying not to worry.

knowing, KNOWING … that He has proven so faithful EVERY SINGLE TIME, and often … at what seems the 11th hour.

this time, after weeks of searching and accepting that perhaps we’d need to settle for something, anything … we found an amazing home. after years of my hubby working in our living space (adding a baby each year, too, has made for a crazy work environment both for him and for me) – he now has a home office!

we have space, and the home is beautiful. we thought about how we felt when we moved in to our last apartment: so lovely, so spacious, with special touches that we appreciated so much.

and now, we feel the same … new special features, like the home office, that we’ve longed for and waited on for years. and now, we appreciate so deeply!!

so right now i sit, in this candlewood suites room, directing my kiddos to play safely while caleb sleeps and mike takes a biz phone call in the bathroom. this has been intense! how do people travel with toddlers, and HOW do they sleep in hotels?? how i miss josiah’s crib, his room … our nighttime routines and being able to tuck him in to a confined space. and not freaking out when he makes noise which wakes the baby at 1am because we are all 3 inches apart and i end up with one baby nursing on one side while the other cuddles, needs tickles and mama to itch him while he wiggles on my other side.

!!

oh, how much we will appreciate what will feel like palatial spaciousness of a home!

it has been interesting, this sense of having no real home … closest i’ve been to homeless and it stirs up a lot of thoughts about how much we attach to places. i think of the israelites, wandering for 40 years … and how much we are SO attached to our home, our cars, our stuff.  they define us, anchor us.

i had a dear friend remind me that home is wherever my hubby is … how true and lovely to think about it.

and even more, to consider and realize my ultimate security in YHWH, Who knows and loves me. Known and loved, we are.

wherever we are.

One Response to “exceedingly abundant”

  1. Leaves Heal Says:

    Intense. I hear you.

    “Then if they will really learn the ways of My people, to swear by My name, ‘As YHWH lives,’ even as they taught My people to swear by Baal, they will be built up in the midst of My people.”–Jeremiah 12:16

    As YHWH lives, He has brought you this far.

    Isaiah 56:1-8
    1Thus says YHWH, “Preserve justice and do righteousness, For My salvation is about to come And My righteousness to be revealed.

    2″How blessed is the man who does this, And the son of man who takes hold of it; Who keeps from profaning the sabbath, And keeps his hand from doing any evil.”

    3Let not the foreigner who has joined himself to YHWH say, “YHWH will surely separate me from His people.” Nor let the eunuch say, “Behold, I am a dry tree.”

    4For thus says YHWH, “To the eunuchs who keep My sabbaths, And choose what pleases Me, And hold fast My covenant,

    5To them I will give in My house and within My walls a memorial, And a name better than that of sons and daughters; I will give them an everlasting name which will not be cut off.

    6″Also the foreigners who join themselves to YHWH, To minister to Him, and to love the name of YHWH, To be His servants, every one who keeps from profaning the sabbath And holds fast My covenant;

    7Even those I will bring to My holy mountain And make them joyful in My house of prayer. Their burnt offerings and their sacrifices will be acceptable on My altar; For My house will be called a house of prayer for all the peoples.”

    8The Lord YHWH, who gathers the dispersed of Israel, declares, “Yet [others] I will gather to them, to those [already] gathered.”


Leave a Reply

