my local farm {beall house farm}

July 18, 2014

this is a little pocket of happy. it’s hard to explain, really, how much this little place and it’s happy farmer nita bring a smile to my heart.

the barn door is closed here but the door on the right is the one that opens to her farm stand

the barn door is closed here but the door on the right is the one that opens to her farm stand

 

i can’t remember when i first stopped by but a few months ago, i saw her  “open” sign and stopped by to see a table of eggs by the dozen … $2.50/dozen! and the *best part*: the little cash box to leave money in. this honor system seriously is a relic of innocence and a touch of small town that makes me happy.

i’ve since become a regular egg-buyer, getting my weekly dozen every friday for $3. can’t beat the quality – pure bright orange yolks, large awesome eggs. and the part that i still blesses me? that time i stopped by last month when i didn’t have cash on me and she insisted i leave with a dozen eggs and just repay her the following week. does that even happen??!

in the past few weeks, her offerings have grown and so has my excitement! and here’s the thing: *every single time* i stop by, she blesses me with an abundance. more than i ever pay for. last week she said, ‘do you like green beans? i just picked so many and you have to take some home.’ and she sent me home with an overflowing bag of fresh green beans.

 

farm1

 

there really is very little sweeter to me than the goodness of REAL FOOD, grown and harvested with love, shared generously.

nita’s story is pretty awesome, too: a mid-life single lady sold her place in southern california and bought this historic farm … setting aside 3 years of mortgage payments so she could spend that time cultivating and growing her land. a dream, realized!

it’s been fun to spread the word and have friends and family stop by … last weekend, my mom and grandma visited her stand and mom shared the great conversation they had.

it’s lovely to live the thing i believe in: develop relationships with those that grow my food (since i can’t yet grow it myself); buy local – support local farmers; eat REAL food and see where it comes from! my kiddos love our stops to the “farm”! it is just around the corner from my house and driving by, seeing her “open” sign, peering in to see the table of fresh offerings … makes me happy every time.

 

those bunches of beets - $1.75/bunch and i've loved them! the greens are so great. there's the little cash box in the front :)

those bunches of beets – $1.75/bunch and i’ve loved them! the greens are so great. there’s the little cash box in the front 🙂

One Response to “my local farm {beall house farm}”

  1. janice connelly Says:

    I love this story! 🙂 Thanks for sharing and including pictures of the beautiful produce. 🙂

    “Let the morning bring me word of your unfailing love, for I have put my trust in you. Show me the way I should go for to you I lift up my soul.” Psalm 143:8 NIV


Leave a Reply

